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REPORTING EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER 
CONTRIBUTIONS  

 A.C.A. §§ 24-7-401, 411, 708, 1303 and A.C.A. § 24-2-701  
________________________________________________________________ 
 
RULES FOR THE EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RATE  
(A.C.A. § 24-7-401 as amended by Act 468 of 2009 and A.C.A. § 24-2-701) 
 
1. The employer contribution rate shall be the rate established by the Board of 

Trustees of the Arkansas Teacher Retirement System prospectively for each 
year pursuant to A.C.A. § 24-2-701 and A.C.A. § 24-7-401.  

 
2. The Arkansas Teacher Retirement System shall annually notify participating 

employers of the employer contribution rate established by the Board for the 
upcoming fiscal year. 

 
 3.  Pursuant to A.C.A. § 24-7-103, participating employers shall pay the Teacher 

Retirement employer contributions for eligible employees in accordance with 
these rules and regulations.  

 
RULES FOR EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER REMITTANCES AND REPORTS  
(A.C.A. §§ 24-7-401, 411) 
 
1. Remittances of employee and employer contributions are due monthly. 
 
2. Employer reports required by the System are due on a monthly and quarterly 

basis. 
 
3. The employer reports required by the System must be on forms or electronic 

media either furnished by the Teacher Retirement System or approved by the 
System, and shall be accompanied by supporting documentation as 
determined by the System. 

 
 4.  An employer report or remittance by an employer shall not be delinquent if 

received by the System on the 15th day of the month in which it is due or 
postmarked by the 14th day of the month.  If the 14th falls on Saturday, 
Sunday, or a holiday, the postmarked date is extended to the next business 
day. 

 
 5. A $150.00 late report penalty will be assessed on any required employer 

report not received by its due date. 
 
6.   If an employer fails to remit employee or employer contributions by the date 

due under No. 4 above, an interest penalty of 6% shall be assessed with daily 
interest accrual until paid. 
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7.  The Board or its designee may, but is not required, to waive penalties and 
interest due from an employer if in its discretion it finds: 

A.  The delinquency was not the result of the employer’s nondisclosure, fraud, 
or other misrepresentation; and 

B. Based on the facts and circumstances, the required payment of the 
penalties and/or interest would be unduly penal, burdensome, or 
manifestly unjust. 

8.  The Board designates the Executive Director to waive penalties and interest 
from an employer in an amount not to exceed $1,000 per fiscal year.  The 
Executive Director shall report to the Board any amounts excused under this 
section.  Any request to waive employer penalties and interest exceeding 
$1,000 per fiscal year shall be submitted to the ATRS Board for 
consideration. 

9. Annual billings for underpayments of employee or employer contributions that 
result in a balance of $10 or less may be written off by the system. 

 
RULES FOR REPORTING EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR ACTIVE 
MEMBERS  ( A.C.A. §§ 24-7-401, 411) 
 
1.  The active employer contributions to be paid each fiscal year by participating 

employers shall be the current employer contribution rate multiplied by the 
active employees’ total salaries. 

 
2.  The Department of Education shall pay from the Public School Fund, in 

accordance with rules established by the Board, the ATRS employer 
contributions due for eligible employees of Cooperative Education Services 
Areas, Vocational Centers, Arkansas Easter Seals, and the school operated 
by the Department of Correction.  ATRS shall certify to the Department of 
Education at the close of each quarterly report the amount of employer 
contributions due.  The amount will be based on the employers’ reported 
salaries.  

 
3. The System may certify to the state’s Chief Fiscal Officer the names of 

participating employers who are delinquent in reporting and remitting 
contributions under this policy.  Upon notification, the Chief Fiscal Officer may 
direct a transfer of funds on deposit in the State Treasurer’s Office for any 
delinquent employer payments plus the six percent (6%) interest penalty to 
the System. (A.C.A. § 19-5-106) 

 
4. Supplemental salary payment reports for previous years will be accompanied 

by the employer contributions due. 
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5. The Arkansas Teacher Retirement System shall return to participating 
employers overpaid contribution amounts due to erroneous submission of 
payments or incorrect reporting of Salary Option 2 (first $7,800.00) member 
salaries.  If an overpayment of a contribution amount is less than $25.00, the 
refund will not be issued to the employer unless requested in writing by the 
employer. 

 
6. The Arkansas Teacher Retirement System shall not collect from participating 

employers an underpayment of employer contribution amount if less than 
$25.00. 

 
7. For members retiring and who are employed by agencies or other institutions 

that use the state’s 26-week payroll schedule, employers should adhere to 
and report the salary, contributions, and actual days worked through the 
state’s fiscal year payroll schedule and for the termination date of 
employment.  Contributions should not be withheld on any salary earned after 
the close of the current year’s payroll, nor should any salary or days of 
service be reported for that period of time.  

  
RULES FOR REPORTING EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR T-DROP 
MEMBERS (A.C.A. § 24-7-401, 1303 as amended by Act 743 of 2009 and A.C.A. 
§ 24-2-701) 
 
1. The T-DROP employer contributions shall be the employer contribution rate 

multiplied by the total T-DROP participant’s salaries. 
 
2. Effective July 1, 2009, the employer contribution rate for T-DROP participants 

shall be the percentage rate established by the Board pursuant to A.C.A. § 
24-7-401 for the fiscal year. 

 
RULES FOR REPORTING EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR RETIREES 
(A.C.A. § 24-7-708 as amended by Act 743 of 2009) 
 
1. The retiree contribution rate shall be the employer contribution rate multiplied 

by the total retirees’ salaries employed by participating employers for that 
fiscal year. 

 
2. Effective July 1, 2009, the employer contribution rate shall be the percentage 

rate established by the Board pursuant to A.C.A.§ 24-7-401 for the fiscal year. 
 
 
 
 
Amended:  June 17, 2003 
  April 6, 2004 
Reaffirmed:  June 15, 2004 
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Amended:  July 18, 2005 
  April 26, 2007 
                       February 11, 2008 
 December 18, 2009 
Approved by Board: February 6, 2012 
Amended: April 18, 2012 
Effective: May 29, 2012 


