EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE

Final Report on the Regular Session 91st General Assembly April 19, 2017

The regular session that started January 9, 2017, is wrapped up except for a ceremonial adjournment. All 20 bills of the ATRS legislative package are now laws.

ATRS is extremely grateful for the help and assistance in the passage of the ATRS legislative package. ATRS would again like to express appreciation to all members of the General Assembly. The following list of legislators who sponsored or presented legislation on behalf of ATRS went above and beyond what could be expected to assist ATRS. Retirement legislation is always complex and difficult to sponsor. These legislators made a special effort to help ATRS:

Senator Ronald Caldwell
Senator Eddie Cheatham
Senator John Cooper
Senator Bart Hester
Senator Jeremy Hutchinson
Senator Bill Sample
Senator Bruce Maloch
Representative Bruce Coleman
Representative Gary Deffenbaugh
Representative John Maddox
Representative Johnny Rye
Representative Douglas House
Representative Les Warren

ATRS had an extensive package that required the Joint Retirement Committee to address ATRS bills on a weekly basis from the first meeting to the last. A special thank you is due to all members of the Joint Retirement Committee for the time and patience spent ensuring the ATRS legislative package was sharpened and effective. Here is the list of the twenty (20) committee members by chamber:

2017 Senate Members of Retirement Committee

Senator Bart Hester, Chair Cave Springs Senator Blake Johnson, Vice Chair Corning Nashville Senator Larry Teague Senator Joyce Elliott Little Rock Senator Jason Rapert Conway Senator Bill Sample **Hot Springs** Senator Jeremy Hutchinson Little Rock Senator Eddie Cheatham Crossett Senator Linda Chesterfield Little Rock Senator Jane English North Little Rock

2017 House Members of Retirement Committee

Representative Douglas House, Chair North Little Rock Representative Gary Deffenbaugh, Vice Chair Van Buren Representative David Meeks, Chair Conway

Representative Fred Allen
Representative Ron McNair
Representative Bob Johnson
Representative Bruce Coleman
Representative Clint Penzo
Representative Johnny Rye
Representative Les Warren

Little Rock
Alpena
Jacksonville
Mountainburg
Springdale
Trumann
Hot Springs

The 20 bill legislative package positions ATRS to remain strong and to get stronger as ATRS focuses on being prepared for any actuarial change, economic downturn, or changes in governmental accounting standards. The ATRS Board is grateful for all the assistance and advocacy by member organizations. The cooperation from Governor Hutchinson's office and others is also recognized and appreciated. This executive director update concludes the regular updates from the regular session.