Membership with ATRS is established through employment with an ATRS Covered Employer. Full-time employees of the following Arkansas employers are required to be members of ATRS (Part-time employees of the below ATRS Employers are not eligible for Service Credit until they have worked 40 days):

  • Department of Correction School
  • Department of Education - General Division
  • Educational Cooperatives
  • Educational Television Commission (AETN)
  • Public Schools
  • School for the Blind and Visually Impaired
  • School for the Deaf
  • Teacher Retirement System

Unless an alternate retirement plan is selected, full-time employees of the following are generally required to be members of ATRS:

  • Colleges and Universities
  • Department of Workforce Education / Rehab. Services
  • Vocational-Technical Schools

Employees of certain educational, nonprofit corporations may be members of ATRS pending approval of their employer by the Internal Revenue Service and the ATRS Board of Trustees.